In honor of my passing score, I thought I would explain briefly what the RICA is…

The RICA® (Reading Instruction Competence Assessment®) is a requirement for Multi-Subject Teaching Credentials to prove that they have the skills and knowledge to provide effective reading instruction to students. The exam covers five domains:

  • Domain 1: Planning, Organizing, and Managing Reading Instruction Based on Ongoing Assessment
  • Domain 2: Word Analysis
  • Domain 3: Fluency
  • Domain 4: Vocabulary, Academic Language, and Background Knowledge
  • Domain 5: Comprehension

Want to test your skills and knowledge? Take a practice exam here.

Thankfully for me, the CTC has been moving forward with embracing technology and this is a computer based exam instead of paper and pencil. This also means that scheduling is significantly easier, with multiple sites, days and times whereas before testing was much more limited. Register to take your RICA today.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s